Last Minute Jobs and Jitters

In less than 12 hours our grand adventure begins. We will put on our backpacks, cinch the hip belt tight, and step into the woods. YIKES! Both of us have the jitters. I’m pushing away panic, wondering “what in the world was I thinking?!”

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” –Nelson Mandela

This morning I finished sorting through piles of papers and half-finished art projects. Hubby plans to do some house renovations and repairs while we are away and I certainly don’t want HIM to choose what to throw away and what to keep. (Please tell me that at least some of you are packrats…and that you understand what I’m talking about!)

Daughter and I finished cramming the last few items into our packs and hauled our things to the car. One last day of wearing my comfy jeans and favorite t-shirt, then it’s trail clothes (synthetic rather than cotton) and sturdy hiking boots for the next two months. One last night sleeping in a bed followed by a morning shower. One last session on my laptop before typing on a tiny screen on my phone when we get to internet in town. Backpacks Ready

Daughter finished the last performance of “The Suessification of Romeo and Juliet” at a local children’s theater. While she was busy with the play, hubby and I had one last “date.” For the next two months we will keep in touch by texts and phone calls on weekly town days. Seussification Actress

It’s quiet now in the hotel room near the trail (six hours from home). Hubby and daughter are both asleep. When I finish this post, I’m headed to bed, hoping to shut down my mind and get good rest. The jitters will hopefully disappear tomorrow when we say our goodbyes and head into the woods. It’s time for the next Big Epic to begin!

3 thoughts on “Last Minute Jobs and Jitters

  1. Best Wishes on your Big Epic! I look forward to reading about it as you check in from time to time. Today I saw the movie, A Walk in the Woods; it had more significance for me now knowing that you and Anna were on the same trail, albeit much better prepared than Bryson and his friend were. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

