Research and Reality

Have you checked out the FAQ tab here on the blog? At the end of the list I explain the steps involved in considering a new Big Epic: “Brainstorming a big idea, researching what others have done, making extensive plans as to how this dream might be implemented, talking with friends, family (and yes, even strangers) about this big idea, abandoning the project if it is way too big for even me, and making the feasible plan(s) become reality.”

Obviously I brainstormed the idea of a long-distance hiking trip on the Appalachian Trail. At two weeks into our two month hike, this Big Epic has certainly become a reality. But what about the middle stages? What was involved in the research and planning steps before we left? And how does that compare to the realities we are now experiencing?

“I have always found that plans are useless, but planning is indispensable.” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

Since high school, I have read books about folks who have completed epic hikes. (I’ve also read extensively about those who climb Mt. Everest—but that’s another story for another time.) In considering this trip, I conquered a mountain of books about the Appalachian Trail. Some I discarded as having little relevance to daughter and I. (Nope, we are not attempting to run the entire 2185 miles in less than two months. Nor was I looking for compulsively detailed reviews of each calorie consumed and every single shelter available along the length of the trail.) As I read, I took notes on any tips or hints that might come in handy for us. That became almost 30 typed pages (saved to my kindle for reference). Research

In addition to haunting our local library system for books, I did extensive research on the internet. I was especially interested in the experiences of families who hiked with their children. I needed to assess how feasible a long-distance hike would be with daughter as companion. If you wonder about families on the trail, check out these 2014 blogs from the Kallin Family and from the Tougas Family If you have some money to spare, definitely check out the video series put together by the Tougas Family.  The videos were both entertaining and informative! (This was the only way I could get daughter to investigate what to expect for our trip…) internet research

Finally, any of you who know me personally, know that I am the Queen of Lists. I made lists of possible routes, lists of gear, lists of food, lists of how to divide the weight between each of our packs, lists of school projects for daughter, lists of temperature averages, lists and lists. And, of course, I had to make a master list to keep track of all the lists! A few of the most important lists are on the trail with us (such as learning ideas and what is included in our daily rations). A few other lists are in our “bounce box” to use when we are in town (including a master shopping list for food resupply). (If you want to see a few of these detailed lists, I have posted them at Trail Journals.) Lists

A significant question is how closely my plans and research match the realities of the trail… (that sounds like a good topic for another post…coming soon!)

2 thoughts on “Research and Reality

Leave a Reply

