Leaping into the New Year!

I’m an all-in, jump-right-in, leap-before-you-look kinda gal. The changing-of-a-calendar and moving-to-a-new-year transition always feels like the perfect opportunity to reinvent myself. So I make audacious, big-dream lists of a zillion new things I plan to explore and I fill my days with commitments. A few weeks into the new year I step back, take a look at my calendar and my to-do list, and freeze. There aren’t possibly enough hours in the day to achieve everything I want to accomplish!

A radical new look for the new year!

A radical new look for the new year!

Although my calendar for January is already too full for comfort, I have managed to avoid most of this drama. This year, I stepped back, took time to ponder (and pray), and chose just two new guidelines to follow in the coming weeks and months. Rather than leading to a place of being overwhelmed, I hope these simple things will help me continue to explore new things in a slower, saner way.

My overarching goal for this year is to SEEK BEAUTY. Although enjoying beauty in nature is certainly a necessity for me, this also includes looking for beauty in relationships, in being creative, in learning new things. Beauty is never merely sugary-sweet, but includes the pleasurable with the challenging. I made myself a reminder of this goal based on a photo I took of a little vignette my daughter made at the top of a difficult hill along the Appalachian Trail. Goal: Seek Beauty

To help remind myself of my goal to seek beauty this year, I also chose one word to focus my intentions for the year: PAUSE. I will always be an enthusiastic, look-at-the-positive person. But I hope to preface that leap-before-you-look tendency with at least a momentary pause to consider. I’m certain there will be no fewer adventures, and I will always be working on the next “Big Epic” in my life, but perhaps there will be fewer false starts and failed expectations. I’ll let you know how it goes! Intention: pause

I’m curious. How do YOU approach a new year? Are you cautious and careful, slow to change course? Or are you a “leaper” like me? I would love to hear your views in the comments below…

One thought on “Leaping into the New Year!

  1. Love the photo – so beautifully elegant in its simplicity! I am not much of a New Year’s resolution person. I am always involved in creative pursuits and volunteer community service. I tend to pause and reevaluate my commitments when I feel I am getting pressed for time to do justice to the task, or when a friend cautions me, “Be careful what you say yes to”. Personally I tend to pause more in Autumn with its shortening days and vibrant colors of dying leaves, which
    sharpens my awareness of the shortening time left to accomplish my goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

